Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How this site works

Egg yolk spooned over a frying egg in a nonstick pan.

Nonstick pans, Oct 2, 2026

Nonstick pans without PTFE, compared

$125
Caraway ceramic fry pan, 10.5 in., oven to 550°F
$199
HexClad Hybrid fry pan with lid, 12 in.

Makers' product pages, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Where to start
  3. What to compare
  4. Two nonstick pans, as listed on October 2, 2026
  5. See the pans on the makers' sites
  6. What to check on a nonstick pan
  7. Nonstick questions
  8. Sources

Key facts

  • Caraway lists 550°F in the oven2. HexClad's pages give 500°F and 900°F; plan around 500°F, and 400°F with the glass lid13.
  • HexClad says its Hybrid pans are metal utensil-safe1; Caraway says a little oil or butter is essential2.
  • Warranty: lifetime against defects at HexClad, 1-year limited at Caraway12.
  • Both makers state their coatings are made without PTFE and PFAS. We have not tested this12.

Where to start

Where to start
If you are askingStart withLink
Cook with metal utensils?HexClad says its pans are metal-safe
Finish dishes in a hot oven?Caraway lists 550°F
Buying several pans?Check the price per pan in a set
Ready to look at the pans?Open each maker's own page

What to compare

Construction. HexClad describes its Hybrid pans as tri-ply with an aluminum core, with laser-etched stainless-steel hexagon peaks protecting a ceramic nonstick coating in the valleys, and says they are metal utensil-safe1. Caraway's fry pan has a ceramic nonstick coating, and Caraway says a little oil or butter is essential to protect the surface2.

Oven limit. Caraway lists 550°F2. HexClad's own pages give two numbers: the feature list says oven-safe up to 900°F, while the set summary says up to 500°F; both say the glass lids are oven-safe to 400°F13. Until HexClad clarifies, plan around 500°F, and 400°F with the lid on.

Price and warranty. The 12-inch HexClad pan with lid was $199 with a lifetime warranty against manufacturer's defects (excluding damage from excessive heat, misuse and similar)1. Caraway's 10.5-inch fry pan was $125 with a 1-year limited warranty2.

Coatings. Both makers state their coatings are made without PTFE and PFAS12. We have not tested this. Minnesota has prohibited the sale of cookware with intentionally added PFAS since January 1, 20254.

Two nonstick pans, as listed on October 2, 2026

SpecHexClad Hybrid Fry Pan with Lid, 12 in.Caraway Fry Pan, 10.5 in.
Price1$199$125
Oven-safe to3500°F (set summary) or 900°F (feature list); lid 400°F550°F
Stovetops2Induction-ready"All-Stovetop Compatible"
Utensils1Metal utensil-safeNot stated by the source
Dishwasher1Dishwasher-safeCovered in the maker's FAQ
Warranty2Lifetime, manufacturer's defects1-year limited
SourceHexClad product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026Caraway fry pan pageRead Oct 2, 2026

Makers' own statements. Prices before tax and shipping. "Not stated": Caraway's page does not call the pan metal-utensil safe.

See the pans on the makers' sites

How these links work: each button opens the merchant's own product page. We are not paid for these links today; we may earn a commission from purchases in the future.

Good for a ceramic pan that goes to 550°F in the oven

Caraway ceramic fry pan

Oven
550°F
Warranty
1-year limited
Listed price
$125
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
See prices on CarawayOpens Caraway's site. Not a referral link.

What to check on a nonstick pan

  • The lowest oven limit

    Lids often stop at 400°F while the pan goes higher1.

  • Utensils

    Only HexClad states metal-safe on the pages we read1.

  • Care

    Caraway says a little oil or butter protects the surface2.

  • Coating statements

    Makers' own words; Minnesota bans intentionally added PFAS in cookware4.

Nonstick questions

Why does HexClad list two oven temperatures?

We do not know. The 12-inch pan page and the set page both carry "oven-safe up to 900°F" in the feature list, and the set page also says "Oven-safe up to 500°F"13. Ask HexClad before relying on the higher figure.

Are these pans PFAS-free?

Both makers say their coatings are made without PFAS12. That is their statement; we have not tested it.

Sources

  1. Hybrid Fry Pan with Lid, 12"HexClad, read Oct 2, 2026
  2. Fry Pan (10.5")Caraway, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. Hybrid Fry Pan Set with Lids, 6pcHexClad, read Oct 2, 2026
  4. Minnesota Statutes 116.943, products containing PFASMinnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, read Oct 2, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from purchases today. Every product link is a plain link to the merchant's own page, without an affiliate code. We may join merchants' affiliate programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.

Prices and specifications are each maker's own, as listed on the date shown, and can change. The maker's page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

Kitchen Gear Index does not sell cookware and has not tested any product. Coating and safety statements are the makers' own.