Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How this site works

A blue enameled Dutch oven of beef stew on a rustic table with bread.

Dutch ovens, Oct 2, 2026

What a Dutch oven costs

$99.95
Lodge Essential Enamel, 6 qt
$285-$680
Le Creuset Signature Round, 2 to 13.25 qt

Makers' product pages, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Where to start
  3. What decides the choice
  4. Dutch ovens, as listed on October 2, 2026
  5. See the pots on the makers' sites
  6. What to check on a Dutch oven
  7. Dutch oven questions
  8. Sources

Key facts

  • A similar enameled pot ran from $99.95 (Lodge, 6 qt) to $285 to $680 (Le Creuset, by size)12.
  • Le Creuset lists every stovetop including induction and 500°F in the oven1.
  • Caraway's ceramic-coated Dutch oven comes in its set and is oven safe to 550°F3.
  • Le Creuset says dishwasher-safe but recommends hand washing1.

Where to start

Where to start
If you are askingStart withLink
Cooking for 4 to 6?4.5 to 5.5 qt, per Le Creuset's guide
On a budget?Lodge 6 qt, $99.95
Need it hotter than 500°F?Caraway's set pot lists 550°F
Ready to look at sizes?Open each maker's page

What decides the choice

Price spread. Lodge listed its 6-quart Essential Enamel Dutch Oven at $99.952. Le Creuset's Signature Round Dutch Oven runs from $285.00 to $680.00 depending on size, from 2 to 13.25 quarts, stated as suggested retail prices1.

Stovetops and oven. Le Creuset lists ceramic, electric, gas, halogen and induction cooktops and an oven limit of 500°F1. Enameled cast iron is one of the materials ENERGY STAR names as induction-compatible4. Caraway's ceramic-coated Dutch oven comes in its set and is oven safe to 550°F3.

Care. Le Creuset says its Dutch oven is dishwasher-safe but recommends hand washing1. Lodge says its enameled surface stands up to acidic ingredients and can store leftovers in the fridge2.

Dutch ovens, as listed on October 2, 2026

Dutch ovenMaterialOven-safe toPrice
Lodge Essential Enamel Dutch Oven, 6 qt2Enameled cast ironNot stated by the source$99.95
Le Creuset Signature Round Dutch Oven, 2 to 13.25 qt1Enameled cast iron500°F$285.00 to $680.00 by size
Caraway Dutch Oven, 6.5 qt (in the Cookware Set)3Ceramic-coated550°FSold in the $445 set
SourceMaker product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026Maker product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026Maker product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026

Lodge's page did not state an oven limit in the text we read.

See the pots on the makers' sites

How these links work: each button opens the merchant's own product page. We are not paid for these links today; we may earn a commission from purchases in the future.

Good for every stovetop, six sizes from 2 to 13.25 qt

Le Creuset Signature Round Dutch Oven

Oven
500°F
Warranty
Limited lifetime
Listed price
$285.00 to $680.00 by size
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
See prices on Le CreusetOpens Le Creuset's site. Not a referral link.

Also on Le Creuset's site

Good for enameled cast iron under $100

Lodge Essential Enamel Dutch Oven

Surface
Porcelain enamel, fine with acidic food
Other sizes
1.5, 3, 4.5, 7.5 qt
Listed price
$99.95
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
See prices on LodgeOpens Lodge Cast Iron's site. Not a referral link.

What to check on a Dutch oven

  • Size for your table

    4.5 qt for 4-5 servings, 5.5 qt for 5-6, per Le Creuset1.

  • Knob and oven limit

    Le Creuset lists 500°F; its FAQ covers the knob1.

  • Induction

    Enameled cast iron is on ENERGY STAR's list4.

  • Care

    Hand washing recommended even when dishwasher-safe1.

Dutch oven questions

What size Dutch oven should I buy?

Le Creuset's size guide pairs 4.5 quarts with 4-5 servings and 5.5 quarts with 5-6 servings1. Lodge describes its 6-quart as its most versatile size, and sells 1.5, 3, 4.5 and 7.5 quarts too2.

Can enameled cast iron go on induction?

Yes, enameled cast iron is on ENERGY STAR's list, and Le Creuset names induction on its page14.

Sources

  1. Signature Round Dutch OvenLe Creuset, read Oct 2, 2026
  2. 6 Quart Essential Enamel Dutch OvenLodge Cast Iron, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. Cookware SetCaraway, read Oct 2, 2026
  4. Electric cooking products (induction)ENERGY STAR (US EPA), read Oct 2, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from purchases today. Every product link is a plain link to the merchant's own page, without an affiliate code. We may join merchants' affiliate programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.

Prices and specifications are each maker's own, as listed on the date shown, and can change. The maker's page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

Kitchen Gear Index does not sell cookware and has not tested any product. Coating and safety statements are the makers' own.