Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How this site works

A steak sears in a dark pan over a high gas flame.

Cast iron and carbon steel, Oct 2, 2026

Skillets that work on any heat

$39.95
Lodge carbon steel skillet, 8 in.
$40.00
Lodge Blacklock cast iron, 7 in.

Lodge's own pages, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Where to start
  3. What to know
  4. Lodge skillets, as listed on October 2, 2026
  5. See the skillets on Lodge's site
  6. What to know before you buy
  7. Cast iron questions
  8. Sources

Key facts

  • Lodge says its cookware is made for stovetops, ovens, campfires and grills1.
  • Cast iron is on ENERGY STAR's list of induction-compatible materials3.
  • The smallest sizes were $39.95 and $40.00 on Lodge's own site12.
  • No applied nonstick coating: the surface is seasoning you keep with oil1.

Where to start

Where to start
If you are askingStart withLink
Want quick, even heat?Carbon steel: thin and light
Want classic cast iron, lighter?Blacklock, triple-seasoned
Cooking on induction?Cast iron passes the magnet test
Ready to look at sizes?Open Lodge's own pages

What to know

Where they work. Lodge describes its cookware as made for stovetops and ovens as well as campfires and grills1. Cast iron is on ENERGY STAR's list of materials that can work on induction, and the magnet test confirms it for any pan3.

Cast iron or carbon steel. Lodge describes its carbon steel skillet as thin and lightweight for quick, even heat, and its Blacklock cast iron as triple-seasoned and lighter than standard cast iron12. Both come seasoned.

Price. The smallest sizes were $39.95 (8-inch carbon steel) and $40.00 (7-inch Blacklock) on Lodge's own site12. Larger sizes are on the same pages.

Coatings. There is no applied nonstick coating; Lodge states its cookware is made without PFAS1. The surface is seasoning, which you maintain with oil.

Lodge skillets, as listed on October 2, 2026

SkilletSizesSmallest size priceSurface
Lodge Seasoned Carbon Steel Skillet18, 10, 12 in.$39.95 (8 in.)Seasoned
Lodge Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron Skillet27, 10.25, 12 in.$40.00 (7 in.)Triple-seasoned
SourceLodge product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026Lodge product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026Lodge product pagesRead Oct 2, 2026

Lodge's pages did not state a maximum oven temperature or dishwasher guidance in the text we read.

See the skillets on Lodge's site

How these links work: each button opens the merchant's own product page. We are not paid for these links today; we may earn a commission from purchases in the future.

Good for stovetop, oven, grill and campfire cooking

Lodge skillets

Carbon steel
8, 10, 12 in.
Blacklock cast iron
7, 10.25, 12 in.
Warranty
Made Right Warranty
Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron Skillet
$40.00 (7 inch)
Seasoned Carbon Steel Skillet
$39.95 (8 inch)
Checked
Oct 2, 2026
See prices on LodgeOpens Lodge Cast Iron's site. Not a referral link.

Also on Lodge Cast Iron's site

What to know before you buy

  • Weight

    Carbon steel is thin and light; Blacklock is lighter than standard cast iron12.

  • Seasoning

    Both come seasoned; you keep it up with oil1.

  • Induction

    Cast iron passes the magnet test3.

  • Heat sources

    Stovetop, oven, campfire and grill, per Lodge1.

Cast iron questions

Will cast iron scratch a glass induction top?

Lift rather than slide heavy pans. The cooktop maker's manual is the place to check for any restrictions.

How hot can it go in the oven?

Lodge's pages did not state a number in the text we read; they describe the cookware as made for ovens, campfires and grills1.

Sources

  1. Seasoned Carbon Steel SkilletLodge Cast Iron, read Oct 2, 2026
  2. Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron SkilletLodge Cast Iron, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. Electric cooking products (induction)ENERGY STAR (US EPA), read Oct 2, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from purchases today. Every product link is a plain link to the merchant's own page, without an affiliate code. We may join merchants' affiliate programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.

Prices and specifications are each maker's own, as listed on the date shown, and can change. The maker's page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

Kitchen Gear Index does not sell cookware and has not tested any product. Coating and safety statements are the makers' own.