Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. How we make money

Guide: materials, read October 8, 2026

Hybrid, stainless steel or cast iron?

Three ways to build a frying pan, three sets of rules from the makers themselves. This page puts HexClad's hybrid, 360 Cookware's stainless and Lodge's seasoned cast iron side by side on heat, care, oven limits, dishwashers and warranty, quoting each maker's own page rather than a test we did not run.

900°F / 500°F / no figure
Pan oven limit stated by HexClad, 360 Cookware and Lodge
$156 / $169.95 / $40.00
HexClad 12 in (struck-through $199), 360 11.5 in, Lodge Blacklock 7 in, October 8

Makers' product and care pages, read Oct 8, 2026. See source

A pot simmering on a stove under a pendant light in a dim kitchen.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. How each pan is built, as the maker describes it
  3. The makers' rules, side by side
  4. Why the heat rules differ
  5. Oven limits: read the lowest number
  6. Warranty and returns, as published
  7. Which pan, by how you cook
  8. The three pans on their makers' sites
  9. 360 Cookware's stainless pans on its site
  10. Lodge's seasoned cast iron on its site
  11. Material questions
  12. Sources

Key facts

  • Heat is the first rule and it differs. HexClad: 'medium with HexClad equals medium-high with others'12. 360 Cookware: 'For most everyday cooking, low to medium heat is all you need'7. Lodge: cast iron 'can handle any kitchen cooktop, oven, grill, and open flame'10.
  • Oven limits: HexClad's 12-inch page says the pan is oven-safe to 900°F and the glass lid to 400°F, while its set page also says 500°F12; 360's fry pans state 500°F5; Lodge states no number on the pages we read1011.
  • Dishwasher: HexClad says dishwasher-safe1; 360 says it does not recommend the dishwasher and that detergents can affect warranty coverage79; Lodge's care is 'wash, dry, and rub with oil'10.
  • Warranty: HexClad lifetime against manufacturer's defects, original customer, return shipping may be charged4; 360 lifetime against defects in workmanship and materials, replacement at 50% of retail after fire, abuse, accident, theft or natural disaster8; Lodge's page links a Made Right warranty we did not read in full11.

How each pan is built, as the maker describes it

HexClad's hybrid is a tri-ply pan with an aluminum core and a magnetic stainless base for induction, whose cooking surface is 'a laser-etched stainless steel hexagon design' of ridges over 'nonstick valleys' filled with HexClad's TerraBond ceramic coating, which HexClad calls PTFE-free and 'free from forever chemicals'13. The steel peaks are what you sear on; the valleys are what releases. HexClad's own care page says the pan needs seasoning with a teaspoon of oil on medium-low for two to three minutes and will 're-season itself' over the first weeks2.

360 Cookware's stainless has no coating at all. The cooking surface is T-316 stainless steel, 18/10 (18% chromium, 10% nickel), over a sealed aluminum core and a T-400 series stainless exterior for induction, bonded to a total thickness of .110 in (2.7 mm)6. 360 says it dry-sands the surface smooth instead of coating it, and that the pans are made without PFAS, PFOA, PFOS or PTFE69. Food release comes from technique: preheat until water beads glide, use low to medium heat, and let proteins release on their own7.

Lodge's cast iron is seasoned iron: 'Seasoning is just oil baked onto the pan', 100% vegetable oil applied in the foundry, and the layer 'gets better with every use'10. The Blacklock line is Lodge's lighter, triple-seasoned skillet in 7, 10.25 and 12 inch sizes, sold as made without PFAS and for 'all kinds of heat-sources, from stovetops and ovens to campfires and grills'11. There is no coating to protect and no ridge to clean; the surface is the oil you maintain.

The makers' rules, side by side

Each cell is the maker's own statement on October 8, 2026; a dash means the pages we read did not state it.

RuleHexClad Hybrid (12 in)360 Cookware stainless (11.5 in)Lodge seasoned cast iron (Blacklock)
Heat setting2Start lower; medium equals medium-high on other pansLow to medium for most cooking; too much heat causes stickingAny cooktop, oven, grill and open flame
Before first use2Wash with warm soapy water, then season with 1 tsp oil on medium-low for 2 to 3 minutesPreheat a few minutes; water drops should bead and glideComes seasoned from the foundry; use builds the layer
Pan oven limit1900°F (12-inch page); 500°F on the set page500°FNot stated by the source
Lid or handle limit1Tempered-glass lid 400°FClassic line phenolic handles and knobs 350°F, broiler offNot stated by the source
Induction3Yes: magnetic stainless baseYes: T-400 series stainless exteriorStovetops of all kinds per Lodge; see our magnet test
Dishwasher1Dishwasher-safeNot recommended; may affect warranty coverageWash, dry, rub with oil
Metal utensils1Metal utensil-safeNot stated by the sourceNot stated by the source
Coating statement6TerraBond ceramic nonstick, PFAS-free (maker)Zero chemical nonstick coatings; made without PFAS, PFOA, PFOS, PTFE (maker)Made without PFAS (maker); seasoning is oil
Weight13.0 lb pan plus 2.3 lb lidNot stated by the sourceNot stated by the source
Listed price, Oct 81$156 (struck-through $199) with lid$169.95$40.00 (7 in); 10.25 and 12 in sizes listed
SourceHexClad pagesRead Oct 8, 2026360 Cookware pagesRead Oct 8, 2026Lodge pagesRead Oct 8, 2026

Why the heat rules differ

HexClad's instruction to start lower is about its aluminum core: the pan 'allows heat to be distributed faster', so a medium burner behaves like medium-high on other cookware2. The warranty backs that up by excluding 'excessive heat' from coverage4, so the number on the dial matters to the claim as well as the dinner.

360 Cookware's rule points the same way for a different reason. Stainless 'holds heat extremely well', so 'too much heat is one of the biggest causes of sticking and burning', and 'Discoloration is due to persistent overheating'78. The blue or rainbow marks that follow are, in 360's words, harmless and come off with vinegar and water7. The pan is not damaged by heat the way a coating would be; the food is.

Lodge gives no upper limit because the material is iron and oil: 'Cast iron can handle any kitchen cooktop, oven, grill, and open flame'10. The cost of that freedom is the maintenance step the other two do not have, 'wash, dry, and rub with oil', and the rust or flaking seasoning Lodge's troubleshooting page treats as normal and fixable10.

Oven limits: read the lowest number

HexClad's 12-inch page gives 900°F for the pan and 400°F for the vented glass lid1. Its 6-piece set page gives both 500°F in its summary and 900°F in its feature list2. Until HexClad reconciles the two, the lid's 400°F is the only number that governs a covered dish, and 500°F is the safer reading for the bare pan; our oven-safe guide follows the same rule for every maker.

360's fry pans state 500°F with a stay-cool stainless handle5. Its use and care guide adds a limit most pages skip: the phenolic handles and cover knobs on its Classic line are good to 350°F 'if the broiler unit is not on', because 'The direct heat from the broiler unit in a gas or electric oven will cause the handles and knobs to blister'8. Check which handle your piece has. Lodge states no temperature on the pages we read; it states ovens, grills and open flame as intended uses1011.

Warranty and returns, as published

HexClad: 'HexClad cookware products carry a lifetime warranty against manufacturer's defects', excluding damage from 'excessive heat, abuse, neglect, improper storage, misuse of sharp utensils, improper cleaning, improper seasoning, or use in a foodservice setting'. It is 'limited to the original customer ... with proof of purchase and is non-transferrable', covers products bought new from HexClad or authorized sellers, and 'the customer may be held responsible for return shipping fees'. HexClad asks you to activate it with a form, and warranty periods begin when the product is received4. The product page carries a 30-day return window1.

360 Cookware: 'warranted against defects in workmanship and materials for the lifetime of the cookware', with the original purchase registered as proof; 'Any heir to the cookware must provide a copy of the original purchase for replacement'. Cookware 'damaged or destroyed by fire, abuse, accident, theft, or natural disaster' may be replaced 'at 50% of the retail price at the time of replacement' on submission of a report or letter8. The product pages state 90-day returns and free shipping5; dishwasher use 'can void the warranty of certain products'9.

Lodge's Blacklock page links a 'Made Right Warranty' whose text did not load in our read, so we do not describe it11; the care page's troubleshooting treats rust and flaking seasoning as things you fix rather than claim10.

Which pan, by how you cook

  • Most common start

    You want release without a routine

    HexClad's hybrid: seasoning once, dishwasher-safe, metal utensils allowed, and a lower burner than you are used to. The 400°F lid is the oven limit for covered dishes.

    $156 for the 12 in with lid, Oct 8

    See nonstick pans
  • You sear, deglaze and finish in the oven

    360's T-316 stainless: no coating to wear, 500°F pan, induction-ready, hand wash. Technique replaces the coating: preheat, low to medium, let it release.

    $169.95 for the 11.5 in, Oct 8

    HexClad vs 360
  • You want one pan for stove, oven and campfire

    Lodge's seasoned cast iron: any heat source, oil as the surface, and a wash-dry-oil habit instead of a coating or a warranty claim.

    $40.00 for the 7 in Blacklock, Oct 8

    See cast iron

The three pans on their makers' sites

Each page has the price of the day and the full care notes. Plain links; the brand has no account with any maker.

Good for release with metal utensils and a dishwasher

HexClad Hybrid Fry Pan with Lid, 12 inch

Oven
Pan 900°F (set page 500°F); lid 400°F
Care
Dishwasher-safe; metal utensils
Hybrid Deep Sauté Pan with Lid, 7 quart
$229
Hybrid Fry Pan with Lid, 12 inch
$156 (struck-through $199 value)
Hybrid Wok with Lid, 14 inch
$219
Checked
Oct 8, 2026
See prices on HexCladOpens HexClad's site. Not a referral link.

360 Cookware's stainless pans on its site

Good for uncoated T-316 stainless, 500°F, made in Wisconsin

360 Cookware 11.5 Inch Fry Pan

Oven
500°F; T-316 18/10 surface
Care
Hand wash; low to medium heat
10 Inch Fry Pan
$159.95
11.5 Inch Fry Pan
$169.95
Checked
Oct 8, 2026
See prices on 360 CookwareOpens 360 Cookware's site. Not a referral link.

Also on 360 Cookware's site

Lodge's seasoned cast iron on its site

Good for any heat source, seasoned iron

Lodge Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron Skillet

Sizes
7, 10.25 and 12 inch
Care
Wash, dry, rub with oil
Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron Skillet
$40.00 (7 inch)
Seasoned Carbon Steel Skillet
$39.95 (8 inch)
Checked
Oct 8, 2026
See prices on LodgeOpens Lodge Cast Iron's site. Not a referral link.

Also on Lodge Cast Iron's site

Material questions

Is a hybrid pan nonstick?

HexClad describes 'nonstick valleys' of ceramic coating between steel ridges, asks for a one-time seasoning and says the pan re-seasons itself in use123. It is not sold as a bare-stainless pan and not as a conventional coated one; HexClad's own heat rule, medium equals medium-high, is the part most owners miss2.

Why does 360 say not to use the dishwasher?

Its stainless page says harsh dishwasher detergents 'can damage exposed aluminum within the cookware's construction and may affect warranty coverage', and its help center says dishwasher use 'can void the warranty of certain products'79. Hand washing after the pan cools is the routine 360 asks for7.

How hot can cast iron go?

Lodge's care page says cast iron handles 'any kitchen cooktop, oven, grill, and open flame' and gives no temperature figure on the pages we read1011. The limit in practice is the seasoning, which Lodge says you rebuild by using and oiling the pan10.

Which is heaviest?

HexClad states 3.0 lb for the 12-inch pan and 2.3 lb for its lid1. 360 and Lodge did not state weights on the pages we read, though Lodge sells Blacklock as its 'lightweight' cast iron11.

Do any of them work on induction?

HexClad says yes, via a magnetic stainless base3; 360 says yes, via its T-400 series exterior6; Lodge says all stovetops11. Our induction guide has the magnet test for the pan already in your cupboard.

Sources

  1. Hybrid Fry Pan with Lid, 12 inchHexClad, read Oct 8, 2026
  2. Proper Use and Care; Hybrid Fry Pan Set with Lids, 6pc (oven limits)HexClad, read Oct 8, 2026
  3. The Science (construction)HexClad, read Oct 8, 2026
  4. WarrantyHexClad, read Oct 8, 2026
  5. 11.5 Inch Fry Pan360 Cookware, read Oct 8, 2026
  6. Our Materials360 Cookware, read Oct 8, 2026
  7. Cooking With Stainless Steel (heat, care)360 Cookware, read Oct 8, 2026
  8. Use & Care Guide (handle limits, Lifetime Warranty)360 Cookware, read Oct 8, 2026
  9. Help Center (dishwasher, coatings)360 Cookware, read Oct 8, 2026
  10. Seasoned Cast Iron Cleaning & CareLodge Cast Iron, read Oct 8, 2026
  11. Blacklock Lightweight Cast Iron SkilletLodge Cast Iron, read Oct 8, 2026

About this page

Prices and specifications are each maker's own, as listed on the date shown, and can change. The maker's page is the final word on price, availability and terms.

Kitchen Gear Index does not sell cookware and has not tested any product. Coating and safety statements are the makers' own.